Sunday, May 15, 2011

Back in the game. Full on.

I have stopped losing weight since February and I am at a comfortable 128. And at a good 23% body fat. Not bad.
There has been a few pounds of muscle that has been added since then and I could not be happier with the results these past 10 months have brought me.

I know I've worked hard to get where I am today. Sweat, hard work and determination have all become 1 in my life. I am so proud of myself. I really am.

But I am not satisfied. Not fully, anyways.

Call it obsession, call it being vain, call it anything. I just want to get to a point where I am 110% satisfied with my body. Maybe 10 more pounds will do it? Maybe going down to a 19% body fat? I don't know. Maybe reaching that level of satisfaction will never come.

I will never know until I try.

Wednesday, May 4, 2011

How to Find the Time.

We all lead busy lives. I know. I have one.

What with work, school, laundry, cleaning, cooking, KIDS.....Phew, I know how hard it must be for some people to even try to squeeze in some exercise time in their busy schedules. The day does not give us many hours and we have other things to worry about. So the last thing we want to do at the end of the day is get our exhausted butts out of our PJs, into our workout clothes and drag ourselves to the Gym.

But, you need to make up your mind. What is more important? What will take you one step closer to your goals?
Taking that nap or getting on the treadmill?
Ordering Chinese food? Or cooking a healthy meal?

No one said it was going to be easy. Weight loss is very hard. But if you want to fit into those size 3 jeans or into that bikini, then it is going to take a lot of sweat, determination and sore muscles to get there.
I have told several people that giving birth was a piece of cake compared to losing these 50 lbs. The beginning was brutal. But my body slowly started to adapt to the healthy lifestyle and my 6-7 day trips to the local fast food joint has turned to twice a month. The thought of a greasy pizza or french fries (my once favorite food) does not appeal to me anymore. At all. I think I am most proud of that :)

If you have kids and give yourself that excuse of not having time to exercise. I am calling you bluff.
When I have Lily and there is no one to watch her or when she has already taken her nap, I do this. I make sure she has a clean diaper. I make sure she has had her breakfast, lunch or dinner. I set up a blanket in front of the TV with all her favorite toys. Put her water bottle there. Give her my phone or whatever other gadget she likes to tinker with. Then I push play.
I have a decent fussy kid. And she already is getting the idea she is very spoiled so I never thought I would be able to even do 5 minutes of my workout with her in the house AND being awake.
But there is something about me moving around, and the music on the video that captivates her. She absolutely loves seeing me workout. And not only her, but I have also noticed that my niece stops in her tracks whenever she comes over and sees me in the middle of my workout. Oh and she is currently during the terrible 2s.





Give it a try and you might be surprised at how much your little one behaves during your workout.

Remember though, One can have all the gym memberships they can afford. All the personal trainers, all the gym equipment, a fridge full of healthy food. But if your mind and body are not 100% in it......I guarantee you will not succeed.

It only takes one single negative thought to break you.
Change your mindset, change your body.