The last rest day I had from exercise was Thursday, the 13th.
10 days ago.
Anyone who has ever seen me in action at the gym or at home, knows I don't play around. My sessions usually run between 1-2 hours. 1 1/2 hours being the average daily time frame. Intense, interval training is how I roll. If I am not sweating buckets or almost puking at the end of my workout, I am not satisfied. I want to be able to FEEL that I worked hard enough. The number of calories I burned has to exceed a certain amount before I can be satisfied.
Anyways, my body has been twitching for the past few days. My neck, legs, arms, chest, back, I mean EVERYTHING, is twitching like crazy! At night, I just lie in bed and wait for the twitching to begin, it doesn't hurt a bit. It's just a weird feeling. I googled it and one of the main reason is too much exercise. Long distance runners and athletes are more prone to this. I like to call myself an athlete :)
It also states it's not serious at all. Recovery days, water and eating plenty of potassium will help alleviate the twitching. I guess that means I need to start cutting back a bit.
Easier said than done! Exercise is my drug. It really is. People don't seem to understand it because they are not used to think of it as addicting. They think drugs, alcohol, even food are addictions. But never exercise. How can someone be addicted to exercise? That's insane. WRONG. The feeling I get after an intense workout is an amazing high. "Runner's High" as they call it. Google it, it's no joke. It truly exists and it feels amazing. I feel utterly relaxed and at peace when I step off the treadmill.
Even when I have one day off, I get so anxious for the next day to come around so I can do it all over again.
But I do need a rest today. Work was a long one. I've been up since 3am and I have to go in at 5am tomorrow morning. Today will be spent finishing planning Lily's party and maybe catching up on some reading. Exercise will be out of sight, and out of mind. Plus I don't have a sitter so I can't go to the gym and Lily already took a nap so she will be up until bed time ::sigh:: Good!
Although, Andrew does come home at 7pm and I'm sure he wouldn't mind watching her for a few hours.............
Pammi!! You deserve a day off, not only to you deserve it, your body wants it! Give tha body what tha body wants :o)
ReplyDeleteYou are an inspiration and have worked so hard. I want you to be able to wind down and not have working out in the back of your mind <3 Frankie says Relax hahaha